Home Sugar Support Forum™ First Meetings How to be safe about a first meetup interstate

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Danielle Danielle 3 weeks, 3 days ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

melbSBB
    Participant

Hey all :)

I’m brand new to the SB game and have had overwhelmingly positive, friendly responses to my profile. I’ve started chatting to a man who lives interstate, and our first phone call was great and went for multiple hours. He came across as friendly, sincere and personable, and I’m looking forward to meeting him. The problem is that I’m a wary of meeting up safely, and I’m not sure how other SBs go about first dates when they’re outside of your usual location.

He said that he’d prefer me not to google him and to just meet him on our 1st date as two authentic people, which I can understand to a degree. The thing is, he suggested meeting interstate for a couple of nights for our first meetup. Having thought about it, I feel like I would prefer to meet him in person first for a more casual dinner/drinks arrangement to get to know him a bit more, but he’s unavailable to meet in my state for a couple of weeks… so what do I do? I don’t want to offend him or keep him hanging for an extended period of time, but I also want to be cautious because at the end of the day I’ve never met him and he’s never met me. How would other SBs approach this?

Thank you :)

DavidSD
    DavidSD
    Participant

Google him. Politeness takes a back seat to your safety.

A few rules.

1. Do not travel for a first date.
    2. No overnight for a first date.

As nice as someone can be on the phone you don’t know them until you meet in person. The forum is littered with horror stories from girls who traveled or agreed to overnights on a first date.

Do not put yourself in a dangerous situation.

melbSBB
    Participant